Nondestructive Testing

Nondestructive Testing and Certified Welding Inspection

(Commonly referred to as NDT, NDE, or CWI)

Nondestructive testing is a method used to evaluate components, subassemblies, or process systems that preserves the original state of the article under test. Nondestructive testing can be utilized in the research and development phase of product design or any time a test is required that prevents damage to the unit or system while undergoing testing.

Commonly used methods of nondestructive testing include Eddy-Current (ET), Liquid Penetrant (PT), Leak Testing (LT), Magnetic Particle (MT), Radiographic (RT), Ultrasonic (UT), and Visual (VT) methods. At LTS, in addition to VT and PT, we specialize in multiple leak testing methods. These include Bubble Testing (BT), Helium Mass Spectrometer Leak Testing (MSLT), Pressure Change Measurement Leak Testing (PCMT), Thermal Conductivity Leak Testing, Acoustic Leak Testing, and Visual Leak Testing.

Nondestructive leak testing is utilized in a multitude of industrial applications including the following:

  • Aerospace/Aircraft
  • Boilers and Pressure Vessels
  • Gas Delivery Subassemblies and Piping
  • Heat Exchangers
  • Industrial Process
  • Nuclear Spent Fuel Storage Casks
  • Powerplant Air In-Leakage
  • Propulsion Systems
  • Rail Tank Cars
  • Research Reactors
  • Vacuum Chambers
  • Valves
Nondestructive Leak Testing (NDT) | Nondestructive Training

LTS staff is qualified/certified as Level I, Level II, or Level III in compliance with ASNT/SNT-TC-1A and ANSI/ASNT CP-189. All training and qualifications are performed by our own ASNT-certified, leak test Level III examiners.

LTS also employs inspectors certified as American Welding Society (AWS) Certified Welding Inspectors (CWI).

NDT Levels of Certifications:

  • Level III Technicians or Engineers are the most experienced and qualified. By interpreting established standards and codes, techniques and procedures can be developed for the product or process being tested.
  • Level II Technicians prepare work instructions for Level I personnel. They are knowledgeable in interpreting standards and performing test set-up methods. Level II personnel can evaluate, document, and report the nondestructive testing results. Level II personnel oversee and train Level I technicians.
  • Level I Nondestructive Testing certified personnel follow work instruction testing procedures and are closely monitored by higher-level technicians.

To achieve all certification levels, both written exams and practical testing must be successfully completed.

CWI Certification

The AWS Certified Welding Inspector (CWI) certification is obtained through the American Welding Society. All work by LTS AWS CWI personnel is performed in strict compliance with the LTS NQA-1-compliant Quality Assurance Program.

Want to Learn More About Nondestructive Testing and Training?

Contact Us